Week 11: “The Blasphemer”

I fell way behind with my reviews (though not my reading). It’s just that I read a book so good, I wanted to keep my thoughts to myself. Have you ever felt that way?

“The Blasphemer,” by Nigel Farndale, is a wonderful novel. It’s about Daniel Andrews, a zoology professor in London, and his great-grandfather Private Andrew Kennedy, who died at Passchendaele.

Daniel is taking his wife on a second honeymoon to the Galapagos Island. Andrew is slogging through the mud of No-Man’s Land.

The plane goes down in the ocean. The Shropshire Fusiliers are decimated by German machine guns.

Farndale stuffs a lot of plot into these 371 pages – you could make two books out of them — but he unites his two main threads with a single question: Is there such a thing as an angel?

I don’t often read books twice – so many books, so little time – but “The Blasphemer” will go on the short list of exceptions.

7 thoughts on “Week 11: “The Blasphemer”

  1. May I simply say what a relief to discover somebody who really understands what they are talking about over the
    internet. You actually know how to bring a problem to light and make it important.
    A lot more people must read this and understand this side of your story.

    I can’t believe you’re not more popular given that you certainly possess the gift.

    Like

Leave a Reply

